Hindi Months Name – महीनों के नाम और ऋतुएं

In our previous tutorial post we learnt how to count Hindi Number correctly. Now, in this post, we’ll learn how to correctly say Hindi Months Name.

Hindi Months Name
Hindu months are based on Lunar eclipse. In every Hindi months, there are two Paksha (पक्ष)- Shukla Paksha (शुक्ल पक्ष) and Krishna Paksha (कृष्ण पक्ष). Paksha refers to a fortnight or a lunar phase in a month of the Hindu lunar calendar. Shukla Paksha starts on the day of the dark Moon, which is called Amavashya/Amavash (अमावश्या/अमावश) and ends before the full Moon. Krishna Paksha starts on the day of the Full moon, which is called Purnima/Purnamashi (पूर्णिमा/पूर्णमाशी) and ends before Amavasya.

Let us learn the Hindi month name with their number of days in different months and their English months period.

Hindi Months Name | 12 mahino ke naam

Months Name English Days English Months Name
बैसाख Vaisākha 31 दिन अप्रैल-मई (April–May)
जयेष्ट Jyeshta 31 दिन मई-जून (May–June)
अषाढ़ Āshāda 31 दिन जून-जुलाई (June–July)
श्रावण Shraavana 31 दिन जुलाई-अगस्त (July–August)
भाद्रपद Bhādra 31 दिन अगस्त-सितंबर (August–September)
अश्विन Ashwina 30 दिन सितंबर-अक्टूबर (September–October)
कार्तिक Kartika 30 दिन अक्टूबर-नवंबर (October–November)
अग्रहायण/अगहन Agrahayana 30 दिन नवंबर-दिसंबर (November–December)
पौष Pausha 30 दिन दिसंबर-जनवरी (December–January)
माघ Māgha 30 दिन जनवरी-फ़रवरी (January–February)
फाल्गुन Phālguna 30 दिन फ़रवरी-मार्च (February–March)
चैत्र Chaitra 30* दिन मार्च-अप्रैल (March–April)

*Chaitra will be for 31 Days in the Leap Years.

In the following table we’ll see the Hindi months name with their Ritu (Seasons). In India there are six seasons in a year i.e. Grishm (Summer), Varsha (Monsoon), Sharad (Autumn), Hemant (Late Autumn), Shishir (Winter), Vasant (Spring).

Hindi Months Name with Season Name (ऋतुओं के नाम)

Months Name ऋतु (Ritu) Season English Months Name
बैसाख ग्रीष्म Summer अप्रैल-मई (April–May)
जयेष्ट ग्रीष्म Summer मई-जून (May–June)
अषाढ़ वर्षा Monsoon जून-जुलाई (June–July)
श्रावण वर्षा Monsoon जुलाई-अगस्त (July–August)
भाद्रपद शरद Autumn अगस्त-सितंबर (August–September)
अश्विन शरद Autumn सितंबर-अक्टूबर (September–October)
कार्तिक हेमंत Late Autumn अक्टूबर-नवंबर (October–November)
अग्रहायण/अगहन हेमंत Late Autumn नवंबर-दिसंबर (November–December)
पौष शीत/शिशिर Winter दिसंबर-जनवरी (December–January)
माघ शीत/शिशिर Winter जनवरी-फ़रवरी (January–February)
फाल्गुन वसंत Spring फ़रवरी-मार्च (February–March)
चैत्र वसंत Spring मार्च-अप्रैल (March–April)

Hindi Months Days Name महीना के दिनों के नाम हिंदी में

In Hindu months, days are divided in Shukla Paksha (शुक्ल पक्ष) and Krishna Paksha (कृष्ण पक्ष) in the name of प्रथमा/प्रतिपदा, द्वितीया, तृतीया, चतुर्थी, पंचमी, षष्ठी, सप्तमी, अष्टमी, नवमी, दशमी, एकादशी, द्वादशी, त्रयोदशी, चतुर्दशी, पूर्णिमा, प्रथमा, द्वितीया, तृतीया, पंचमी, षष्ठी, सप्तमी, अष्टमी, नवमी, दशमी, एकादशी, द्वादशी, त्रयोदशी, चतुर्दशी, अमावश्या

The Days name in the Hindu Calendar with the position of Lunar eclipse is illustrated in the picture below:

Hindi Months Days Name

इन्हें भी सीखें Learn More:
रंगों के नाम Colours Name
राष्ट्रीय/अंतरराष्ट्रीय महत्वपूर्ण दिवस List of Important Days
हिंदी गिनती सींखें Hindi Number Counting
हिंदी अक्षर Learn Hindi Letters
हिंदी बारहखड़ी Hindi Barakhadi
मुहावरे और भावार्थ Muhavare in Hindi
दिनों के नाम Hindi Days Name
सब्ज़ियों के नाम Vegetables Name in Hindi & English
फूलों के नाम Flowers Name
फलों के नाम Fruits Name
पक्षियों के नाम Birds Name in Hindi
बस्तुओं की सूची Items List
भारत के राज्य और राजधानी Indian States and Capitals
Daily Use English Words With Hindi Meaning